4 Stylish ways to Revamp your old Kurtas!

So many of us buy clothes, wear them once and then let it stay in our wardrobe until it gets old and boring. It is not just a waste of money but also a pain when it comes to organizing your wardrobe. There are so many silly reasons of doing this. Most of us are impulsive shoppers. We buy things because it looks good at that very moment.

I am guilty of this as well. There are high heels lying in my wardrobe which are untouched for years. Jackets and stoles which I don’t even remember buying. Accessories are more than the box in which they are kept! Now that I am shifting houses, I understand the pain of excess baggage.

While going through this mental mess, I figured out a way with few old clothes. There were kurtas lying in my wardrobe which I had not really done justice to. But I never really  had the heart to give them away. We all know that kurtas are an absolute necessity for most working women. They have been my life savior for many occasions. I picked up four of them from my wardrobe, added few elements and styled them into fresh new clothes that are anything but boring.

  1. DRESS IT UP:

lr-dsc_7946

I have turned my regular cotton kurta into a dress. The best way to do it, is by selecting the right kurta. Do not pick up an anarkali or any heavily embellished kurta for this look. It will be a huge fashion fail. Select something that is simple, with an a-line or straight cut.

To make the look quirky and fun, I have added a belt on mid-waist as the main element. A belt gives perfect definition to any look. The shoes had to be comfortable and simple. Only flats for this look please. Instead of pumps or ballerinas, you can opt for tie-up sandals as well. Flaunt this look at a brunch with friends.

hr-dsc_7952

2. PAIR THEM WITH CULOTTES:

hr-dsc_7862

Experiments are essential if you want to revive old clothes. Breaking the code is the key to revamp what you think is boring. I have, forever paired kurtas with salwar, leggings, palazzos and straight pants. However, the on-trend culottes looked very interesting to me. I tried out the kurta + culotte look. As expected, it turned to be the perfect take-it-to-work wear. Add some oomph with a pair of classy stilettos and get ready to hit the road in style!

lr-dsc_7803

3. FUSION:

lr-dsc_7705

A lot of us have tried the long skirt/jeans and kurti look. In the name of disruption, I paired my kurti with a knee length skirt. Again, the choice of kurti is important to carry off this look. Pick up something that is simple and coordinates well with the skirt you want to pair it with. If the skirt has a straight fit, pair it with  a flair kurti.

The style elements used to hold this look, are, a pair of solid colour wedges, a thin waist belt and jhumkas.

lr-dsc_7722

4. LAYERING:

lr-dsc_8035

A lot of us have used jackets with kurtas. They can look both classy and funky. What I have used is not a regular Indian wear jacket. During one of my impulsive shopping days, I had picked up a kimono. In eight years, I must have worn it just twice. Yes, I am guilty of doing this. In order to correct my mistake, I used this as a jacket for layering my white chikankari kurta.

The overall look turned out to be smart, subtle and classy. Try not to use too much of contrast for this look. Even tones, monochrome and same colours works better with Indian wear layering. If you are looking to brighten up your Monday morning blues, this is the look that you need. Remember, always add  a bindi, jhumkas and jooti for that Indian touch!

lr-dsc_8099

Moral of the story: Style things that already exists in your wardrobe. You will be amazed at what all you can do with old clothes by just styling them right.

DO NOT shop unnecessarily. Buy things that you need and what fits you well. I will repeat the same thing to myself, every time I hit the mall.

Wardrobe: My own

Photographs by: Pixelglee

 

 

4 thoughts on “4 Stylish ways to Revamp your old Kurtas!

  1. Indeed! An insightful article. It should definitely help a person like me in giving some “Style Suggestions” to the models I shoot…Thanks for compiling all the four ideas in a single blog…Will keep returning to check other ones too… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

